Homeschool Adventure

Hello everyone! It’s been some weeks since my last post. My initial plan was to officially start homeschooling the end of August or beginning of September; but our oldest son (Giovanni) is a eager beaver. So we started last month.

As you can imagine being a homemaker you are already pretty busy, not to mention when you homeschool. We are expecting our 6th child. We are due Sept.18th, but I will be 37 weeks in 2 weeks; which is technically full term. So being busy is an understatement to say the least, but it’s productive! 😉

School has been going pretty well. My son has 6 main subjects that I am teaching him:

1. Learning about God
2. Language Arts (reading/writing)
3. Math
4. Social Studies
5. Science
6. Health

The other subjects like art, music, etc are not required subjects in our state, so those will be worked on as well, but are not apart of our regular schedule.

I have decided instead of trying to teach him several subjects a day, we are just going to focus on one. Teaching our children about God is something we do everyday! I let Giovanni pick which subjects he wanted to do on what days and here is what he chose.

Monday- Language Arts
Tuesday- Math
Wednesday- Science
Thursday- Health
Friday- Social Studies

Doing things this way has been going pretty well. Not to mention I’m also doing preschool and kindergarten with our younger children. Right now school is very relaxed for us, and I like it this way. I need the relaxed atmosphere being that I’m expecting and have been very tired, but my children also appreciate this as well.

I also have a weekly “family schedule” that I created which breaks down our day from rising hours to bedtime. This helps to keep me on track so to speak, plus having a routine when you have a large family can be a really great thing. Not that there aren’t times where you totally don’t follow the “schedule” because those times deff come. Having a schedule just helps!

I will post our family weekly schedule at another time if anyone is interested. I’m posting this via my phone so I can’t load my schedule right now. I have also created “Righteous Work” charts for our older children. I do these instead of chore charts because chores to me sound so mundane. We have taught our children what the bible says about everyone having work to do, so having these type of charts really helps to reinforce that teaching.

I also have a “job description” chart, more for the older children. It explains each job and what needs to be done, just in case they forget. 😉 I don’t like to spend my days repeating things to the children that I don’t have to, so this helps.

I’m still working on charts for the younger children which will mainly consist of pictures so they can see what they are to do.

Don’t know how I got off on all of that, well actually I do because the family schedule shows what time we focus on school. So that’s where these side notes came from. 😉

I really don’t even like the term “school time” because I believe that real learning comes from day to day growth and learning through life experiences as a family. But anyways, for now I will continue to use that term.

Thanks for reading, just wanted to post what my family and I have been doing for the past several weeks. If you are like me and homeschooling is a first for you, be encouraged. You can do ALL THINGS through Christ who strengthens you. BE BLESSED!

Leave a Reply

